La consommation de sucres au Canada

La quantité de sucres consommée par les Canadiens est source de préoccupations. Il importe de se pencher sur les sources de données canadiennes concernant notre consommation actuelle.

  • Apports estimés de sucres totaux, libres et ajoutés — Extraits des données des enquêtes sur la nutrition. Les données sur l’apport alimentaire de l’Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes de 2015 indiquent qu’en moyenne, 18,8 % de l’apport énergétique des adultes canadiens provient des sucres totaux, 9,9 % des sucres libres et 8,6 % des sucres ajoutés.
  • Les tendances en matière de disponibilité des sucres ajoutés sur le marché. Les données de disponibilité de Statistique Canada indiquent que la quantité de sucres ajoutés disponibles sur le marché est en déclin depuis les 20 dernières années.
  • Comparaison des données relatives à la consommation de sucres au Canada par rapport à celle des É.-U. La quantité de sucres ajoutés disponibles au Canada est inférieure d’environ un tiers par rapport à celle aux É.-U.

Apports estimés de sucres totaux, libres, et ajoutés des données de l'Enquête sur la nutrition

La meilleure estimation de la consommation réelle d’aliments provient des données de l’Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (ESSC). Il s’agit d’une observation objective de la consommation de nourriture basée sur une collection d’enquêtes autodéclarées portant sur la nutrition en utilisant un rappel alimentaire de 24 heures.

L’ESSC la plus récente a été menée en 2015 et les données de 11 787 adultes canadiens qui étaient représentatifs de la totalité de la population adulte démontraient que l’apport moyen de sucres totaux était de 86,9 g/jour (18,8 % de l’énergie), 47,5 g/jour (9,9 % de l’énergie) pour les sucres libres et de 41,7 g/jour (8,6 % d’énergie) pour les sucres ajoutés (1).

Comparaisons entre l'ESSC de 2015 et celle de 2004

Dans l’ESSC précédente menée en 2004, l’apport de sucres totaux représentait une moyenne quotidienne de 20,0 % de l’énergie chez les adultes; chez ces personnes, 11,4 % de l’énergie provenait des sucres libres et 9,9 % des sucres ajoutés (2). Cependant, il faut noter que les différences dans les données démographiques (p. ex. population plus âgée), les méthodes utilisées pour l’enquête, mais aussi les sous-déclarations entre l’ESSC de 2004 et de 2015 pourraient avoir influencé ces observations (3).

Apport nutritionnel des différents niveaux d'apports en sucres totaux

Les données ont été analysées plus en détail dans cinq quintiles distribués uniformément (Q1-Q5) basés sur l’apport de sucres totaux en tant que % d’énergie. Les adultes canadiens ayant un apport modéré de sucres totaux (18,3 % de l’énergie, Q3) avaient un apport plus important de fibres alimentaires et de micronutriments clés comme le calcium, la vitamine D et le potassium par rapport aux personnes ayant un apport élevé (33,3 % de l’énergie, Q5) et un faible apport (7,9 % de l’énergie, Q1) de sucres.

La relation s’inverse entre l’apport en sucres totaux et l’apport en gras total en tant que % de l’énergie, tous quintiles confondus; ceci correspond au phénomène du « balancier sucre-graisse ». Cette relation réciproque a également été observée pour les graisses saturées en tant que % de l’énergie.

Catégories alimentaires principales dans les différents niveaux d'apports de sucres totaux

Les adultes canadiens ayant un apport modéré de sucres totaux (Q3) ont consommé des quantités modérées de nombreux aliments et boissons contenant du sucre, comme les boissons aux fruits, les boissons gazeuses et les sucres et les confiseries, par rapport aux quantités plus élevées dans le Q5. Les apports des fruits et des jus de fruits dans le Q3 étaient plus élevés que ceux du Q1 mais moins élevés que ceux du Q5. Aucune différence n’a été notée entre les quintiles dans les sources importantes de glucides comme les pains complets, les pains blancs, les céréales complètes et les céréales pour le petit-déjeuner à teneur élevée en fibres.

Apport de sucres chez les enfants et les adolescents en 2015

Les analyses continues évaluent l’apport en sucres par rapport aux apports en macro- et micronutriments chez les enfants et les adolescents canadiens, ainsi que la qualité de l’alimentation dans les différents niveaux de l’apport en sucres en utilisant la même base de données de l’ESSC de 2015.


Tendances concernant la disponibilité des sucres ajoutés sur le marché

Les données sur la disponibilité alimentaire de Statistique Canada sont reportées chaque année. Les données de disponibilité concernant les sucres représentent la quantité de sucres ajoutés disponibles sur le marché. Elles peuvent être utilisées comme indicateur supplétif pour estimer les tendances de consommation par habitant de sucres ajoutés au Canada (2).

Bien que de nombreux articles dans la presse suggèrent une augmentation de l’apport de sucres ajoutés au Canada, les données de Statistique Canada indiquent que la consommation estimée de sucres ajoutés par habitant au pays était de 10,3 % de l’énergie en 2019. Ces données reflètent une tendance à la baisse continue sur le long terme, avec une réduction de 14 % par habitant (basé sur le % d’énergie) au cours des 20 dernières années. Cela signifie que la quantité de sucres ajoutés proposés à la vente diminue et implique également une tendance similaire au déclin en matière de consommation de sucres ajoutés au Canada.

Data source: Statistics Canada, CANSIM. Adjusted for waste using updated USDA Loss-Adjusted Food Availability  (http://www.ers.usda.gov/data-products/food-availability-(per-capita)-data-system/.aspx#26705) . Includes refined sugar, maple sugar, honey and sugars in soft drinks. Note: Variability in sugars and syrups reflects substitution with high fructose corn syrup in soft drinks so total sugars, syrups and soft drinks is an overestimate in some years. Sugars in soft drinks is an overestimate as soft drink data includes non-caloric soft drinks.

Ces données comprennent les ajustements effectués pour prendre en compte le gaspillage et les pertes alimentaires. Cela se produit à toutes les étapes de la chaîne de distribution alimentaire et comprend les déversements accidentels, la détérioration ou le rejet d’aliments au niveau des ventes au détail et des consommateurs. Un rapport de 2015 d’Agriculture et agroalimentaire Canada indiquait que le gaspillage alimentaire moyen se monte à environ 31 % dans toutes les catégories alimentaires (3). Les niveaux de gaspillage pour les sucres ajoutés et les sirops sont plus élevés que cette moyenne et se situent à environ 41 %. 


Comparaison de la consommation de sucres au Canada par rapport aux É.U. - données de l'Enquête sur la nutrition 

Source des données : Statistique Canada, CANSIM. Données ajustées pour tenir compte des pertes en utilisant le USDA Loss-Adjusted Food Availability /  « Disponibilité des aliments ajustée en fonction des pertes ». États-Unis, édulcorants caloriques : disponibilité par personne ajustée pour tenir compte des pertes.

Les articles des médias citent souvent les statistiques concernant la consommation américaine de sucres. Cependant nos habitudes alimentaires sont souvent différentes de celles de nos voisins, et cette différence concerne aussi les apports en sucres. Les comparaisons des enquêtes sur la consommation de 2015 indiquent que les adultes canadiens consomment et boivent environ un tiers de moins (4-9) de sucres provenant des aliments et des boissons que les Américains. Une grande partie de cette différence peut s’expliquer par le fait que la consommation de boissons gazeuses au Canada est moitié moindre que celle aux É.-U. (6, 7).  

     
par personne par jour 

(ECSS 2015)

(NHANES 2015-16)

Calories totales

1,890 calories 2,105 calories

Sucres totaux (grammes) - naturels et ajoutés

89 g 106 g
Sucres totaux (% énergie) - naturels et ajoutés 18.8% 20.1%

Sucres ajoutés (grammes)

42 g 67 g

Sucres ajoutés (calories)

168 calories 267 calories

Sucres ajoutés (% calories)

8,9 % 12,7 %
^ESSC 2015 : 19 ans et plus; NHANES 2015-16 : 20 ans et plus. 

 

Pour plus d'informations, les ressources supplémentaires incluent :
Les nouvelles récentes incluent : 
Références
  1. Langlois K, Garriguet D. Changement dans la consommation de sucres totaux chez les enfants et les adultes canadiens. Statistique Canada. Health Reports. January 2019.
  2. Langlois K, Garriguet D. Sugar consumption among Canadians of all ages. Statistics Canada Health Reports. September 2011.
  3. Brisbois TD, et al. Estimated intakes and sources of total and added sugars in the Canadian diet. Nutrients 2014;6(5):1899-1912. 
  4. Statistics Canada CANSIM Table 002-0011. Food Available in Canada. 
  5. Welsh JA, Sharma AJ, Grellinger L, Vos MB. Consumption of added sugars is decreasing in the United States. Am J Clin Nutr. 2011;94:726-734.

Consumption of Sugars in Canada

There  is a concern about how much sugars Canadians consume. It is important to look to Canadian sources of data on what we are currently consuming. 

  • Estimated Intakes of Total, Free, and Added Sugars from Nutrition Survey Data. Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS) 2015 dietary intake survey data indicate that Canadian adults consumed on avereage, 18.8% energy from total sugars, 9.9% energy from free sugars, and 8.6% energy from added sugars.  
  • Trends in Canadian Added Sugars Availability in the Marketplace. Statistics Canada availability data indicates that the amount of added sugars available in the marketplace has been declining over the past 20 years. 
  • Comparison of Canadian Sugars Consumption to US Data. The amount of available added sugars in Canada is about one-third less than the US.

Estimated Intakes of Total, Added, and Free Sugars from Nutrition Survey Data

The best estimate of actual food consumption comes from Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS) data, which is an objective observation of food consumption based on the collection of self-report nutrition surveys in the form of 24-hour dietary recalls. 

The most recent CCHS-Nutrition survey was conducted in 2015, and data from 11,787 Canadian adults who were representative of the entire adult population, showed that the average intake of total sugars was 86.9 g/day (18.8% energy), 47.5 g/day (9.9% energy) for free sugars, and 41.7 g/day (8.6% energy) for added sugars (1). 

Comparisons Between CCHS 2015 and CCHS 2004

In the previous CCHS conducted in 2004, total sugars intake represented a daily average of 20.0% energy for adults, where 11.4% energy came from free sugars and 9.9% energy from added sugars (2). However, it should be noted that differences in population demographics (e.g. older age), survey methods, and under-reporting status between CCHS 2004 and CCHS 2015 may have influenced these observations (3). 

Nutrient Intakes Across Different Levels of Total Sugars Intakes

The data was further analyzed across five evenly distributed quintiles (Q1-Q5) based on the intakes of total sugars as a percentage of energy. Canadian adults with a moderate intake of total sugars (18.3% energy, Q3) had greater intakes of dietary fibre and key micronutrients such as calcium, vitamin D, and potassium, compared to those with high intakes (33.3% energy, Q5) and low intakes (7.9% energy, Q1) of total sugars (See graphs below).

Carbohydrates by quintiles of total sugars intake (%25E)

Calcium and Vitamin D intakes by Quintile of Sugars Intake as a %25 energy

Potassium and Sodium intakes by quintiles of sugars intake as a %25 energy

There was an inverse relationship between total sugars and total fat intakes as a % energy across quintiles, which mirrors the "sugar-fat seesaw" phenomenon. This reciprocal relationship was also observed for saturated fat as a % energy. 

Total fat and saturated fat by quintiles of total sugars intake as a %25 energy

Major Food Categories Across Different Levels of Total Sugars Intakes

Canadian adults with moderate intakes of total sugars (Q3) consumed moderate amounts of many sugars-containing foods and beverages such as fruit drinks, regular soft drinks, and sugars and confectionary, compared to the much higher amounts in Q5. Fruit and fruit juice intakes in Q3 were higher than Q1 but lower than Q5. No difference was observed between quintiles in important sources of carbohydrates such as wholemeal breads, white breads, and whole-grain and high-fibre breakfast cereals (See graphs below). 

Consumption of fruit, yogurt, milk, fruit juice, fruit drinks, and soft-drinks by quinitle of total sugars intake

Consumption of white and wholemeal breads, whole grain and high-fibre breakfast cereals, vegetables and potatoes by quintile of total sugars intake

Consumption of confectionary, sugars, cookies, biscuits and granola bars, frozen dairy, cakes, pies, pastries, and pasta, rice, cereal grains and flour by quintile of total sugars intake

Intake of Sugars in Children and Adolescents from CCHS 2015

Ongoing analyses are assessing the intakes of sugars in relation to macro- and micronutrient intakes among Canadian children and adolescents, as well as diet quality across different levels of sugars intakes using the same CCHS 2015 database. 


Trends in Canadian Added Sugars Availability in the Marketplace

Statistics Canada food availability data is reported annually. Availability data for sugars represents the amount of added sugars available in the marketplace and can be used as a proxy to estimate trends in per capita consumption of added sugars in Canada (2).

While many headlines suggest that Canadian intakes of added sugars are increasing, data from Statistics Canada indicates that the estimated per capita added sugars consumption in Canada was 10.3% energy in 2019. This reflects a continuing long-term declining trend, with a 14% per capita reduction based on % energy over the past 20 years. This means the amount of added sugars available for purchase has been declining, and supports the similar declining trend in added sugars consumption in Canada seen in dietary intake surveys.

Estimated per capita consumption of added sugars in Canada - declining trend 1999-2019

Data source: Statistics Canada, CANSIM. Adjusted for waste using updated USDA Loss-Adjusted Food Availability  (http://www.ers.usda.gov/data-products/food-availability-(per-capita)-data-system/.aspx#26705) . Includes refined sugar, maple sugar, honey and sugars in soft drinks. Note: Variability in sugars and syrups reflects substitution with high fructose corn syrup in soft drinks so total sugars, syrups and soft drinks is an overestimate in some years. Sugars in soft drinks is an overestimate as soft drink data includes non-caloric soft drinks.

These data include adjustments made to account for waste and food loss. This happens at all stages of the food distribution chain, and includes unintended spills, spoilage, or discarding of foods at the retail and consumer level. A 2015 Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada report indicated that there is an average food waste of ~31% across all food categories (3). Levels of waste for added sugars and syrups are higher than this average at ~41%. 


Comparison of Canadian Sugars Consumption to US Nutrition Survey Data

Data source: Canada: Statistics Canada, CANSIM. Adjusted for waste using updated USDA Loss-Adjusted Food Availability. United States: USDA, Caloric sweeteners: Per capita availability adjusted for loss.

Media articles often quote American sugars consumption statistics. However, our eating patterns are often different than our neighbours’, and this includes sugars intakes. Comparisons from 2015 consumption surveys indicate that Canadians adults eat and drink fewer sugars from foods and beverages than Americans, approximately one third less (4, 9). Much of this difference can be explained by the fact that Canadian consumption of soft drinks was about half that of the US (6, 7). 

Comparison of Canadian and US Consumption among adults^ per person per day

Canada US
 

(CCHS 2015)

(NHANES 2015-16)

Total Calories

1,890 Calories 2,105 Calories

Total sugars (grams) - natural and added

89 g 106 g
Total sugars (% energy) - natural and added  18.8% 20.1%

Added sugars (grams)

42 g 67 g

Added sugars (Calories)

168 Calories 267 Calories

Added sugars (% Calories)

8.9% 12.7%
^CCHS 2015: 19 years and older; NHANES 2015-16: 20 years and older

 

For more information, additional resources include:
Recent news items include: 
References
  1. Wang YF, Chiavaroli L, Roke K, DiAngelo C, Marsden S, Sievenpiper J. Canadian Adults with Moderate Intakes of Total Sugars have Greater Intakes of Fibre and Key Micronutrients: Results from the Canadian Community Health Survey - Nutrition 2015 Public Use Microdata File. Nutrients. 2020 Apr 17;12(4):E1124.
  2. Brisbois TD, et al. Estimated intakes and sources of total and added sugars in the Canadian diet. Nutrients 2014;6(5):1899-1912. 
  3. An Overview of the Canadian Agrictulture and Agri-Food System 2015. 
  4. Garriguet D. Accounting for misreporting when comparing energy intake across time in Canada. Health Rep. 2018;29:3-12. 
  5. Langlois K, Garriguet D. Change in total sugars consumption among Canadian children and adults. Statistics Canada Health Reports. January 2019.
  6. US Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, Beltsville Human Nutrition Research Center, Food Surveys Research Group, Beltsville, Maryland; WWEIA Data Tables. Available at: https://www.ars.usda.gov/northeast-area/beltsville-md-bhnrc/beltsville-human-nutrition-research-center/food-surveys-research-group/docs/wweia-data-tables/
  7. Statistics Canada CANSIM Table 002-0011. Food Available in Canada. 
  8. Bowman SA, Clemens JC, Friday JE, LaComb RP, Paudel D, Shimizu M. Added Sugars in Adults' Diet: What We Eat in America, NHANES 2015-2016.
  9. Welsh JA, Sharma AJ, Grellinger L, Vos MB. Consumption of added sugars is decreasing in the United States. Am J Clin Nutr. 2011;94:726-734.