*Le contenu a été examiné par Dr. Nick Bellissimo (École de nutrition, Université Ryerson)

« Cognition » est un terme général employé pour décrire les capacités mentales utilisées pour acquérir, traiter, stocker et transformer des informations pour effectuer des tâches quotidiennes. La cognition est un résultat du fonctionnement du cerveau et se compose de plusieurs éléments, notamment : la perception, l’attention, la mémoire, les fonctions exécutives (c.-à-d. le contrôle des comportements, comme l’organisation et la planification, commencer des tâches et/ou contrôler les émotions) et la prise de décision.

  • Les facteurs qui contribuent à la cognition. La cognition couvre un large éventail de processus mentaux et de tâches. Les facteurs qui affectent la cognition vont de l’âge à l’éducation, en passant par les facteurs environnementaux et le régime alimentaire.
  • Les glucides et la cognition. Le cerveau humain utilise une grande quantité d’énergie et généralement du glucose comme unique source d’énergie pour fonctionner
  • Les sucres et la cognition. À ce jour, des preuves suggèrent que la consommation de sucres pourrait être bénéfique pour les tâches cognitives à court terme. Pour le moment, aucune étude d’intervention à plus long terme chez les humains n’a été menée. De manière générale, aucune preuve solide ne suggère d’association particulière entre la consommation de sucres et la cognition.

Les facteurs qui contribuent à la cognition 

Plusieurs facteurs peuvent impacter la cognition d’une personne, soit positivement ou négativement (1, 2, 3) :

  • L’âge
  • Le régime alimentaire (p. ex. l’alcool, la caféine, les antioxydants)
  • L’éducation et le statut socio-économique
  • La génétique
  • L’activité physique
  • Le tabac

Les effets du régime alimentaire en général et des composants alimentaires particuliers sur la cognition ont été évalués dans de nombreuses études sur les animaux, et certaines, dans des études sur les humains. Les recherches chez les humains et les animaux comprenaient d’une part des résultats cognitifs, comme la performance à l’égard de certaines tâches, et d’autre part des changements moléculaires et chimiques dans des régions du cerveau. Les informations examinées et discutées ci-dessous se rapportent aux études chez les humains.  

Les glucides et la cognition 

Le cerveau humain utilise une grande quantité d’énergie et généralement du glucose (un composant du sucrose [sucre]) comme unique source d’énergie pour fonctionner. Le glucose peut être dérivé des glucides alimentaires, synthétisé dans le corps à partir d’autres substrats, comme les acides aminés, ou libéré des réserves de glycogène dans le foie et les muscles. Le cerveau peut aussi utiliser des cétones comme source d’énergie alternative quand l’approvisionnement en glucides (glucose) est faible; les cétones sont produites à partir du métabolisme des acides gras. Le cerveau humain ne représente qu’environ 2 % de la masse d’un corps adulte, bien qu’il demande près de 20 % de l’énergie totale nécessaire pour le corps. Curieusement, le cerveau adulte utilise du glucose au même taux que celui des muscles squelettiques pendant l’exercice physique (4).

Les régimes cétogènes, faibles en glucides, ont gagné en popularité au fil des ans. Cependant, les recherches démontrent des résultats contradictoires sur la cognition (avec une majorité de données provenant des modèles animaux plutôt que des modèles humains), ce qui complique la traduction en recommandations. Des preuves convaincantes associent le régime cétogène (peu de glucides, beaucoup de graisses et protéines adéquates) et le traitement de l’épilepsie (5), mais cela va au-delà de la portée de cet article sur la cognition.

Sugars and Cognition  

Le glucose est le sucre le plus commun qui circule dans le sang; c’est aussi la principale source d’énergie des cellules du corps et le principal sucre utilisé par le cerveau pour l’énergie (6). Particulièrement, le corps humain demande au moins 130 g de glucose par jour (7), ce qui se base sur la quantité nécessaire pour que le cerveau fonctionne. Le cerveau utilise du glucose provenant des réserves présentes dans le corps, ou utilise celui des aliments consommés. En dégradant les glucides (féculents et sucres) en sucrose, qui est à son tour dégradé en glucose et en fructose (comme illustré dans le diagramme ci-dessous). Le fructose est métabolisé dans le foie, et les voies métaboliques entre le glucose et le fructose sont différentes (6).

Le glucose est la première source d'énergie du corps.

Figure 1 : Le cerveau dépend principalement du glucose pour fonctionner. Restreindre l’approvisionnement en glucose du cerveau peut nuire à la mémoire et à la capacité de concentration.

Pour son énergie, le corps ne nécessite pas de fructose, et il y a eu d’innombrables spéculations sur le rôle du fructose et sa consommation excessive sur la santé. Certaines études évaluant le fructose et la cognition ont fait l’objet d’un examen (8), et l’ensemble des données probantes suggère l’existence d’un effet confusionnel important de l’apport énergétique total, ce qui complique l’isolement des effets du fructose (9). De manière générale, les auteurs résument qu’il y a actuellement un manque d’éléments probants de haute qualité permettant d’évaluer directement le rôle du fructose et de la cognition (9).

La consommation de sucres a des résultats liés à la cognition à court terme (de quelques minutes à quelques heures) et à long terme (de quelques mois à quelques années) différents. Les éléments probants disponibles qui proviennent d’études chez les humains suggèrent que les sucres ont des effets à court terme positifs sur la mémoire et le processus d’apprentissage (10, 11). Il a été démontré que la réponse cognitive au glucose chez les enfants était meilleure pour les tâches mentales complexes (c.-à-d. mémoire verbale, se souvenir de listes de choses), que celle aux tâches plus simples (7, 12, 13). Les effets de la source de glucose (issue des sucres ou des féculents) sur la cognition doivent encore être évalués. La majorité des études qui se penchent sur les résultats à long terme de la consommation de sucres sur la cognition utilise des animaux. Les effets à long terme des sucres sur la cognition chez les humains sont difficiles à établir à cause de la présence déconcertante d’autres variables nutritionnelles et relatives au style de vie. Un examen portant sur le régime alimentaire et la cognition indique qu’il existe un large éventail d’approches méthodologiques permettant d’étudier le régime alimentaire et la cognition, mais les méthodes utilisées ne sont pas harmonisées (14). Étant donnée la disponibilité des données à ce jour, aucune preuve solide ne permet de suggérer que la consommation de sucres, indépendamment des autres composants alimentaires, a un effet sur la cognition. Aucun examen systématique ou méta-analyse sur les sucres et la cognition n’a été rendu public. Trois études sur les humains sont résumées ci-dessous. Elles se penchent sur l’apport en glucides ou en sucres et les résultats cognitifs chez les humains.

  • Une étude d’intervention de mesures répétées chez des enfants canadiens (15 garçons et 7 filles d’environ 12 ans) a mesuré les effets de différentes sources de glucides sur la performance cognitive. Elle comprenait six occasions de consommations; les repas du traitement contenaient 50 g de glucides provenant de purée, de frites, de pommes de terre rissolées, de riz blanc, et incluaient un repas manqué comme témoin. La fonction cognitive a été évaluée par plusieurs tests de mémoire et par un test visant à mesurer la vitesse de traitement de l’information. Les résultats ont mis à jour qu’il n’y avait pas de différence de performance entre les groupes ayant pris les repas du traitement, et ceux ayant sauté les repas. Des résultats particuliers ont mis à jour que les enfants se souvenaient de plus de mots après avoir consommé des frites qu’après avoir consommé de la purée et du riz blanc. Des études futures pourraient prendre en compte la composition du dîner précédant le test, car il pourrait avoir influencé la satiété et la cognition le matin. Les auteurs concluent que les effets à long terme de la consommation habituelle sur la performance cognitive chez les enfants doivent encore être évalués (15).
  • Une étude d’intervention a employé un plan à mesures répétées chez des enfants canadiens (15 garçons de 9 à 14 ans) pour évaluer les effets du glucose, du sucrose et des solutions de sirop de maïs riche en fructose sur le souvenir immédiat et retardé d’une liste de mots. Durant l’expérience, les participants ont reçu soit 200 kcal/250 mL de glucose, sucrose, sirop de maïs riche en fructose, ou d’un témoin de sucralose non calorique (16). Les participants ont reçu une liste de 15 mots à mémoriser et on leur a demandé de s’en souvenir après 30, 45, 60 et 90 minutes. Les résultats ont indiqué qu’il n’y avait pas de différence significative entre les boissons et la mémorisation. Les auteurs indiquent que cet effet pourrait aussi être lié aux aliments et aux boissons consommés en général pendant une journée donnée.
  • Une étude d’intervention menée auprès d’aînés canadiens (10 hommes et 10 femmes de 60 à 82 ans) a mesuré les effets de la consommation de glucose sur les tâches cognitives. Les participants ont consommé 50 g de glucides provenant de différents aliments et liquides, sur 4 jours différents. Les résultats ont indiqué que les écarts de glycémie après avoir consommé du glucose, des pommes de terre, de l’orge ou un placebo ne permettaient pas de prévoir la performance sur la tâche cognitive. Certaines données de cette étude ont également indiqué que plus la mémoire de la personne est mauvaise à la mesure de référence, plus l’amélioration mesurée de la mémoire avec le temps est importante (indépendamment de l’apport en sucres) (10).
  • Une étude d’intervention chez des adultes américains (105 jeunes adultes) a mesuré les effets de la consommation de sucres sur les tâches cognitives. Les participants consommaient une boisson contenant des sucres (boisson gazeuse sucrée avec sirop de maïs riche en fructose [60 % de fructose, 39 % de glucose, 1 % de maltose]) ou sans sucres (artificiellement sucrée). Les participants ont effectué diverses tâches cognitives, y compris répondre à un ensemble de questions et calculer le montant incorrect (taux de fausses alarmes). Les résultats ont indiqué que l’exactitude et la sensibilité aux tâches cognitives étaient plus élevées et que le taux de fausses alarmes était plus bas suite à l’apport en sucres, par rapport aux résultats des participants ne consommant aucun sucre (17).
  • Une enquête transversale menée aux États-Unis auprès de 1234 paires mères-enfants a mesuré l’association entre la consommation de sucres chez la mère et l’enfant. L’étude examinait l’apport quotidien rapporté en sucrose, fructose et des portions de boissons édulcorées, de jus et de boisson gazeuse diète. Les résultats indiquent que la consommation de fructose chez la mère et l’enfant (en moyenne 32,7 g et 27,8 g) et de jus (en moyenne 1,3 et 1,8 portion) n’était pas associée à la cognition. La consommation de sucrose chez la mère (en moyenne 49,8 g/jour) était inversement associée à un des résultats non verbaux de tests d’intelligence de la moyenne enfance. De plus, la consommation de boissons édulcorées chez la mère (en moyenne 0,6 portion) était inversement associée à une cognition de la moyenne enfance; la consommation de boisson gazeuse diète chez la mère (en moyenne 0,2 portion) était inversement associée à des résultats de cognition de la petite à la moyenne enfance. Dans les résultats de l’enfance, la consommation de boissons édulcorées à la petite enfance (en moyenne 0,2 portion) était inversement associée à des résultats verbaux de la moyenne enfance; et la consommation de fruits à la petite enfance était positivement associée à des résultats cognitifs plus élevés à la petite enfance et l’enfance moyenne (18). Les auteurs incluent des limites à cette étude, comme les petites portions, et donc les petites différences de consommation entre les groupes. De plus, les auteurs indiquent qu’il s’agit uniquement d’une étude d’association, et que les relations de cause à effet ne sont pas établies.

De manière générale, il n’existe pas d’effet clair et cohérent des sucres sur la cognition et des études futures à ce sujet permettront de mieux comprendre la relation entre le régime alimentaire et la cognition.

Pour plus d’informations, les ressources supplémentaires comprennent :

Références

  1. Deary IJ, Johnson W, and Houlihan LM. Genetic foundations of human intelligence. Human genetics. 2009. 126(1):215- 232.
  2. Beydoun MA, Beydoun HA, Gamaldo AA, Teel A, Zonderman AB, Wang Y. Epidemiologic studies of modifiable factors associated with cognition and dementia: systematic review and meta-analysis. BMC public health. 2014. 14(1): 643.
  3. Messier C. Glucose improvement of memory: a review. European journal of pharmacology. 2004. 90(1):33-57.
  4. Benton D. Diet, cerebral energy metabolism, and psychological functioning. InNutritional neuroscience. 2005; 18: 72-87.
  5. van Berkel AA, IJff DM, Verkuyl JM. Cognitive benefits of the ketogenic diet in patients with epilepsy: A systematic overview. Epilepsy & Behavior. 2018;87:69-77.
  6. Reichelt AC, Stoeckel LE, Reagan LP, Winstanley CA, Page KA. Dietary influences on cognition. Physiology & behavior. 2018 Aug 1;192:118-26.
  7. European Food Information Council. https://www.eufic.org/en/whats-in-food/article/glucose-and-mental-performance 2018.
  8. Lakhan SE, Kirchgessner A. The emerging role of dietary fructose in obesity and cognitive decline. Nutrition journal. 2013 Dec;12(1):114.
  9. Chiavaroli L, Ha V, de Souza RJ, Kendall CW, Sievenpiper JL. Fructose in obesity and cognitive decline: is it the fructose or the excess energy? Nutrition journal. 2014;13(1):27.
  10. Kaplan RJ, Greenwood CE, Winocur G, Wolever TM. Cognitive performance is associated with glucose regulation in healthy elderly persons and can be enhanced with glucose and dietary carbohydrates–. The American journal of clinical nutrition. 2000. 72(3):825-36.
  11. Markus CR. Effects of carbohydrates on brain tryptophan availability and stress performance. Biological Psychology. 2017. 76; 83-90.
  12. Bellisle F. Effects of diet on behaviour and cognition in children. British Journal of Nutrition. 2004. 92(S2):S227-32.
  13. Kennedy DO, Scholey AB. Glucose administration, heart rate and cognitive performance: effects of increasing mental effort. Psychopharmacology. 2000. 149(1):63-71.
  14. Adolphus K, Bellissimo N, Lawton CL, Ford NA, Rains TM, Totosy de Zepetnek J, Dye L. Methodological Challenges in Studies Examining the Effects of Breakfast on Cognitive Performance and Appetite in Children and Adolescents. Adv Nutr. 2017;8(1):184S-196S.
  15. Lee JJ, Brett NR, Wong VCH, Totosy de Zepetnek JO, Fiocco AJ, Bellissimo N. Effects of Potatoes and Other Carbohydrate-Containing Foods on Cognitive Performance, Glycemic Response, and Satiety in Children. Appl Physiol Nutr Metab. 2019.
  16. Akhavan T, Eskritt M, Van Engelen M, Bellissimo N. Effect of Sugars in Solutions on Immediate and Delayed Word List Recall in Normal Weight Boys. International Journal of School Health. 2014;1(3).
  17. Giles GE, Avanzato BF, Mora B, Jurdak NA, Kanarek RB. Sugar intake and expectation effects on cognition and mood. Experimental and clinical psychopharmacology. 2018. 26(3):302.
  18. Cohen JF, Rifas-Shiman SL, Young J, Oken E. Associations of Prenatal and Child Sugar Intake With Child Cognition. American journal of preventive medicine. 2018. 1;54(6):727-35.

*This content has been reviewed by Dr. Nick Bellissimo (School of Nutrition, Ryerson University)

Cognition is an overall term used to describe the mental skills people use to acquire, process, store, and transform information to carry out everyday tasks. Cognition is an outcome of brain function, and is composed of multiple elements, including perception, attention, memory, executive functions (i.e. the control of behaviors, such as organization and planning, initiating tasks, and/or regulating emotions), and decision making.

  • Factors Contributing to Cognition. Cognition covers a wide range of mental processes and tasks. The factors that affect cognition range from age and education to environmental factors and diet.
  • Carbohydrates and Cognition. The human brain uses a large amount of energy, and typically uses glucose as its sole source of energy for functioning. 
  • Sugars and Cognition. To date, there is some evidence to suggest that sugars consumption might be beneficial for short-term cognitive tasks. There haven’t been any no longer-term intervention studies in humans conducted yet. Overall, there is no strong evidence to suggest any particular association between sugars consumption and cognition.

Factors Contributing to Cognition. 

There are several factors that can impact an individual’s cognition, either positively or negatively (1,2,3), such as:

  • Age
  • Diet (e.g. alcohol, caffeine, antioxidants)
  • Education and socioeconomic status
  • Genetics
  • Physical activity
  • Smoking

The effects of overall diet and specific dietary components on cognition have been assessed in many animal studies, and in some human studies. Research in both humans and animals has included cognitive outcomes on one hand like performance on tasks, and on the other hand molecular and chemical changes in brain regions. The information reviewed and discussed below are related to human studies.  

Carbohydrates and Cognition

The human brain uses a large amount of energy, and typically uses glucose (a component of sucrose (sugar)) as its sole source of energy for functioning. Glucose can be derived from dietary carbohydrate, synthesized in the body from other substrates such as amino acid, or released from glycogen storage in the liver and muscle. The brain can also use ketones as an alternative source of energy when carbohydrate (glucose) supply is low; ketones are generated from metabolizing fatty acids. The human brain is only about 2% of the weight of an adult body, although it requires almost 20% of the total energy required for the body. Interestingly, the adult brain uses glucose at the same rate that skeletal muscles use glucose during exercise (4).

Low-carbohydrate ketogenic diets have become popular over the years, however research has shown conflicting results on cognition, with a majority of data coming from animal models rather than humans, making translation into recommendations more difficult. Convincing evidence associates the ketogenic diet (low carbohydrate, high fat and adequate protein) and the treatment of epilepsy (5), but it is beyond the scope of this article on cognition.

Sugars and Cognition  

Glucose is the most common circulating sugar in the bloodstream, is the main fuel source for cells in the body, and is the primary sugar used by the brain for energy (6). Specifically, the human body requires a minimum of 130g of glucose per day (7), which is based on the amount the brain needs to function. The brain uses glucose from stores in the body, or uses glucose from the foods that people eat by breaking down carbohydrates (starches and sugars) into sucrose, which is then further broken down into glucose and fructose (as shown in the diagram below). Fructose is metabolized in the liver, and the metabolic pathways between glucose and fructose differ (6).

The brain relies primarily on glucose to function.

Figure 1. The brain relies primarily on glucose to function. Restricting the brain's glucose supply can impair memory and ability to focus. 

The body does not require fructose for energy, and there has been considerable speculation about the role of fructose and excess fructose consumption and health. Some studies evaluating fructose and cognition were reviewed (8), and the totality of evidence suggests there is a significant confounding effect of total energy intake, which makes it difficult to isolate the effect of fructose (9). Overall, authors summarize that there is currently a lack of high quality evidence directly assessing the role of fructose and cognition (9).

The consumption of sugars have different short (minutes to hours) and long-term (months and years) cognition-related outcomes. Available evidence from studies with humans suggests that sugars have positive short-term effects for memory and learning processes (10, 11). It has also been shown that the cognitive response in children to glucose is better for more complex mental tasks (i.e. verbal memory, remembering lists of items), compared to simpler tasks (7,12,13). The effects of the source of glucose (coming from sugars or starches) on cognition has yet to be evaluated. The majority of studies that discuss long-term outcomes of sugars consumption and cognition use animals. Long term effects of sugars on cognition in humans are difficult to establish due to the confounding presence of other nutritional and lifestyle variables. A review on the topic of diet and cognition reports that there is a vast range of methodological approaches to study diet and cognition, and there is not consistency in the methods used (14). Given the available data to date, there is no strong evidence to suggest that the consumption of sugars independent of other dietary components impacts cognition. No systematic reviews or meta-analyses have been published on sugars and cognition. Three human studies are summarized below, which investigate carbohydrate or sugars intake and cognitive outcomes in humans.

  • A within-subjects repeated measures intervention study among Canadian children (15 boys and 7 girls, aged ~12 years) evaluated the effects of different carbohydrate sources on cognitive performance. Six separate eating occasions were included, with treatment meals containing 50 g of carbohydrate from either mashed potatoes, French fries, hash browns, white rice, white beans, or a skipped meal as the control. Cognitive function was assessed by several memory tests and by a test for information processing speed. The results found that cognitive performance didn’t differ between the treatment meals or the meal skipping groups. Specific results found that children recalled more words after consuming French fries compared with after consuming mashed potatoes and white rice. Future studies could consider accounting for the composition of the evening meal prior to testing, as this might have influenced satiety and cognition in the morning. The authors conclude that long-term effects of habitual consumption on cognitive performance in children have yet to be evaluated (15).
  • An intervention study with repeated measured design among Canadian children (15 boys, 9-14 years old) evaluated the effect of glucose, sucrose, and high-fructose corn syrup solutions on immediate and delayed word list recall. During the experiment, the participants received either 200 kcal / 250 mL of glucose, sucrose, high fructose corn syrup, or a non-caloric sucralose control (16). The individuals were given a list of 15 words to memorize, and were asked to recall these words at 30, 45, 60, and 90 minutes. The results found that there were no significant differences among the beverages and the resulting word memorization. The authors mention that this effect may also be related to the overall foods and beverages eaten during a given day.
  • An intervention study among Canadians elderly adults (10 men and 10 women, aged 60-82 years) evaluated the effects of glucose consumption on cognitive tasks. The participants consumed 50g of carbohydrate from different foods or liquids, on four separate days. The results found that the differences in blood glucose after consuming either glucose, potato, barley, or a placebo didn’t predict performance on the cognitive task. Some data from this study also found that the poorer the person’s memory at baseline measurement, the greater the measured improvement in memory over time (independent of sugars intake) (10).
  • An intervention study of American adults (105 young adults) evaluated the effects of sugars consumption on cognitive tasks. The participants consumed either a sugars-containing (sugar sweetened carbonated beverage with high-fructose corn syrup (60% fructose, 39% glucose, 1% maltose)) or no sugars-containing (artificially sweetened) drink. Various cognitive tasks were performed, including answering a set of questions and calculating the amount incorrect (false alarm rate). The results found that accuracy and sensitivity to cognitive tasks were higher and false alarm rate was lower following sugars intake, compared to the results when no sugars were consumed (17).
  • A cross sectional survey study in the United States of 1,234 mother-child pairs evaluated the association between the consumption of sugars in the mother and the child. The study examined the reported daily intakes of sucrose, fructose, and servings of sugars-sweetened beverages (SSB), juice, and diet soda. The results found that the maternal and child fructose (avg. 32.7g and 27.8g) and juice (avg. 1.3 and 1.8 servings) consumption were not associated with cognition. Maternal sucrose consumption (avg. 49.8g/day) was inversely associated with mid-childhood intelligence test non-verbal scores. Additionally, maternal SSB consumption (avg. 0.6 servings) was inversely associated with mid-childhood cognition; maternal diet soda consumption (avg. 0.2 servings) was inversely associated with early and mid-childhood cognition scores. From the childhood scores, early childhood consumption of SSB (avg. 0.2 servings) was inversely associated with mid-childhood verbal scores; and early childhood fruit consumption was positively associated with higher cognitive scores in early and mid-childhood (18). The authors include limitations to this research such as small serving sizes, and thus small differences in consumption between the groups. Further, the authors note that as this is an association study only, and causal effects aren’t established.

Overall, there is not a clear and consistent effect of sugars on cognition, and future research on this topic will enhance understanding of the relationship between diet and cognition.

For more information, additional resources include: 

References

  1. Deary IJ, Johnson W, and Houlihan LM. Genetic foundations of human intelligence. Human genetics. 2009. 126(1):215- 232.
  2. Beydoun MA, Beydoun HA, Gamaldo AA, Teel A, Zonderman AB, Wang Y. Epidemiologic studies of modifiable factors associated with cognition and dementia: systematic review and meta-analysis. BMC public health. 2014. 14(1): 643.
  3. Messier C. Glucose improvement of memory: a review. European journal of pharmacology. 2004. 90(1):33-57.
  4. Benton D. Diet, cerebral energy metabolism, and psychological functioning. InNutritional neuroscience. 2005; 18: 72-87.
  5. van Berkel AA, IJff DM, Verkuyl JM. Cognitive benefits of the ketogenic diet in patients with epilepsy: A systematic overview. Epilepsy & Behavior. 2018;87:69-77.
  6. Reichelt AC, Stoeckel LE, Reagan LP, Winstanley CA, Page KA. Dietary influences on cognition. Physiology & behavior. 2018 Aug 1;192:118-26.
  7. European Food Information Council. https://www.eufic.org/en/whats-in-food/article/glucose-and-mental-performance 2018.
  8. Lakhan SE, Kirchgessner A. The emerging role of dietary fructose in obesity and cognitive decline. Nutrition journal. 2013 Dec;12(1):114.
  9. Chiavaroli L, Ha V, de Souza RJ, Kendall CW, Sievenpiper JL. Fructose in obesity and cognitive decline: is it the fructose or the excess energy? Nutrition journal. 2014;13(1):27.
  10. Kaplan RJ, Greenwood CE, Winocur G, Wolever TM. Cognitive performance is associated with glucose regulation in healthy elderly persons and can be enhanced with glucose and dietary carbohydrates–. The American journal of clinical nutrition. 2000. 72(3):825-36.
  11. Markus CR. Effects of carbohydrates on brain tryptophan availability and stress performance. Biological Psychology. 2017. 76; 83-90.
  12. Bellisle F. Effects of diet on behaviour and cognition in children. British Journal of Nutrition. 2004. 92(S2):S227-32.
  13. Kennedy DO, Scholey AB. Glucose administration, heart rate and cognitive performance: effects of increasing mental effort. Psychopharmacology. 2000. 149(1):63-71.
  14. Adolphus K, Bellissimo N, Lawton CL, Ford NA, Rains TM, Totosy de Zepetnek J, Dye L. Methodological Challenges in Studies Examining the Effects of Breakfast on Cognitive Performance and Appetite in Children and Adolescents. Adv Nutr. 2017;8(1):184S-196S.
  15. Lee JJ, Brett NR, Wong VCH, Totosy de Zepetnek JO, Fiocco AJ, Bellissimo N. Effects of Potatoes and Other Carbohydrate-Containing Foods on Cognitive Performance, Glycemic Response, and Satiety in Children. Appl Physiol Nutr Metab. 2019.
  16. Akhavan T, Eskritt M, Van Engelen M, Bellissimo N. Effect of Sugars in Solutions on Immediate and Delayed Word List Recall in Normal Weight Boys. International Journal of School Health. 2014;1(3).
  17. Giles GE, Avanzato BF, Mora B, Jurdak NA, Kanarek RB. Sugar intake and expectation effects on cognition and mood. Experimental and clinical psychopharmacology. 2018. 26(3):302.
  18. Cohen JF, Rifas-Shiman SL, Young J, Oken E. Associations of Prenatal and Child Sugar Intake With Child Cognition. American journal of preventive medicine. 2018. 1;54(6):727-35.